

BOARD OF ELECTIONS
Michael Stinziano, Director Matthew M. Damschroder, Deputy Director

## For Immediate Release Sept. 29, 2008

## Absentee Voting Begins Tomorrow for General Election

**(Columbus)** Absentee voting for the Nov. 4, general election begins tomorrow. A record turnout of absentee voters are expected to take advantage of the flexibility to vote early either by mail or in-person.

Officials estimate that more than 200,000 will vote by absentee ballot for the presidential election, likely doubling the number who voted absentee in the March primary election or the Nov. 2006 general election. Just over 40,000 absentee ballots were used in the 2004 presidential election when absentee voting rules still required voters to qualify for an absentee ballot based upon certain exceptions such as over the age of 62 or out of the county on Election Day

Voters can apply for absentee ballots by mail until noon on Nov. 1. Applications are available online at <u>http://vote.franklincountyohio.gov</u> or by calling the board of elections at 462-3100.

"We're working hard to make sure that all Franklin County voters have a good experience when they vote this year," said Director Michael Stinziano. "But, the only way to guarantee that you won't wait in line this year is to vote early by mail."

Voted in-country absentee ballots must be received at the board by 7:30 p.m. on Election Day or received by Nov. 14 if postmarked by Nov. 3. Out-of-country ballots must be signed and postmarked before the polls close on Election Day and must be received by the board no later than Nov. 14.

In-person absentee voting will be at Franklin County Veterans Memorial to accommodate the anticipated increase of in-person absentee voters. Voting at Veterans Memorial will continue seven days a week through Nov. 3. The hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m., Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sundays from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Media Contact: Ben Piscitelli (614) 462-5351 bjpiscit@franklincountyohio.gov

(614) 462-3100 (614) 462-3489 FAX BOARD MEMBERS Douglas J. Preisse, Chairman William A. Anthony, Jr. Michael F. Colley, Esq. Kimberly E. Marinello