

BOARD OF ELECTIONS Michael Stinziano, Director Matthew M. Damschroder, Deputy Director

For Immediate Release Aug. 19, 2008

Franklin County Absentee Voting Schedule Set

(Columbus) The Franklin County Board of Elections has announced expanded hours for inperson absentee voting with daily voting during the absentee period leading up to the November 4, 2008 general election. In- person early voting will be held at the Franklin County Veteran's Memorial, 300 West Broad Street from Sept. 30 to Nov. 3 at the following times:

- Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
- Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
- Sundays from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

"The voters of Franklin County will have 68 hours a week to cast ballots in-person during the absentee period, " said board of elections Director Michael Stinziano. "Expanded weekday and weekend hours will give people more time to fit voting into busy schedules and lessen a voter's chance of standing in a long line to do it."

Officials are also touting voting by mail as an even easier and faster option for the public.

"It guarantees that you won't stand in line to vote." added Deputy Director Matt Damschroder. "We're mailing an absentee application to every registered voter in the county starting Sept. 5. The county is paying the postage on both applications and ballots mailed back to us to encourage as many people as possible to vote by mail."

Absentee ballot applications must be returned to the board by noon Nov. 1 with mailed ballots due by the close of business Nov. 3. The deadline for out-of-country civilian and military absentee ballots is Nov. 14.

Election officials have forecast a record 80 percent turnout for November and project at least one-third of the voters in Franklin County will cast absentee ballots by mail or in-person.

Media Contact: Ben Piscitelli Public Information Officer Franklin County Board of Elections (614) 462-5351 bjpiscit@franklincountyohio.gov

FRANKLIN COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS 280 East Broad Street Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 462-3100 (614) 462-3489 FAX BOARD MEMBERS Douglas J. Preisse - Chairman William A. Anthony, Jr. Michael F. Colley, Esq. Kimberly E. Marinello