

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE SEPTEMBER 11, 2007

BOARD OF ELECTIONS CONTACTING VOTERS TO CONFIRM NEW ADDRESSES

(Columbus)— The Franklin County Board of Elections is sending post cards to 193,000 voters, roughly one-fourth of those registered in Franklin County, to ensure that every eligible voter has the chance to cast their ballot on Election Day. The mailing, required by federal and state law, will be received by voters who notified the Post Office of a change of address without updating their voter registration and those who did not vote over a recent two year period.

"We're asking voters to use the post cards to confirm their intent to remain a registered voter and giving them the opportunity to update their information, if necessary." said Franklin County Board of Elections Director Matt Damschroder. The notice also informs voters that their registration will be cancelled if they do not vote at least once or update their voter registration by the 2011 General Election.

The Ohio Secretary of State's Office has directed county boards of elections to conduct such mailings to ensure registration rolls are current and accurate in compliance with the National Voter Registration Act (NVRA), also known as the "motor voter law." To assist with the mailing, the Secretary of State provides Boards of Elections with lists of voters who appear on the U.S. Postal Service's National Change of Address (NCOA) database to find voters who have moved and need to update their voter registration to avoid having to cast a provisional ballot.

Eighty-eight thousand of those receiving notices this year appeared on the NCOA list provided by the Secretary of State. Nearly 105,000 others are classified as inactive, meaning that they did not vote during the two year period ending May 8, 2007.

For more Information, contact: Ben Piscitelli Public Information Officer Franklin County Board of Elections (614) 462-5351 bjpiscit@franklincountyohio.gov

FRANKLIN COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS 280 East Broad Street Columbus, Ohio 43215 (614) 462-3100 (614) 462-3489 FAX http://vote.franklincountyohio.gov/boe BOARD MEMBERS William A. Anthony, Jr., Chairman Michael F. Colley, Esq. Kimberly E. Marinello Carolyn C. Petree