

BOARD OF ELECTIONS
Matthew M. Damschroder, Director Dennis L. White, Deputy Director

## CORRECTS EARLIER VERSION TO STATE THAT VOTERS WILL BE NOTIFIED BY MAIL SHORTLY.

For Immediate Release Aug. 16, 2007

## NEW PRECINCTS CREATED FOR NOVEMBER ELECTION

**(Columbus)**— Twenty-two new precincts will be open when voters head to the polls Nov. 6 for Franklin County's next General Election. The new precincts, and other changes recently approved by the Franklin County Board of Elections, reflect changes in the county's population according to Director Matt Damschroder.

"Most of these areas were largely undeveloped not so long ago," said Damschroder. "Ohio law limits each precinct's registration to 1,400 voters. We've created new precincts because of high registration counts in areas where residences are replacing cornfields and former industrial and commercial space is being converted for apartments in downtown Columbus."

The changes impact 36,576 voters throughout Franklin County. Of that number, 19,128 will vote in precincts split from their original location; 15,883 others will move to new precincts. In addition, precincts in the villages of Harrisburg and Lockbourne have been combined with others in Pleasant and Hamilton Townships to cover 1,738 voters. Special ballots will be issued to Harrisburg and Lockbourne voters enabling the continued election of candidates for office in each village.

Elections officials will mail post cards to voters affected by the changes shortly. Voters may also find their polling place by visiting the board of elections Web site at <a href="http://vote.franklincountyohio.gov/boe">http://vote.franklincountyohio.gov/boe</a> or by phoning the board of elections at (614) 462-3100. A complete list of the changed precincts follows this release.

Media Contact: Ben Piscitelli Public Information Officer Franklin County Board of Elections (614) 462-5351 bjpiscit@franklincountyohio.gov

FRANKLIN COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS 280 East Broad Street Columbus, Ohio 43215 (614) 462-3100 (614) 462-3489 FAX http://vote.franklincountyohio.gov/boe BOARD MEMBERS William A. Anthony, Jr., Chairman Michael F. Colley, Esq. Kimberly E. Marinello Carolyn C. Petree

## **PRECINCTS SPLIT**

							-
Original Precinct	Current Reg		Remaining	Remaining Reg		New Precinct Formed	Reg Moved
COLS 08-B	1480		COLS 08-B	847		COLS 08-E	662
COLS 14-B	1771		COLS 14-B	1106		COLS 14-G	640
COLS 20-B	1409		COLS 20-B	731		COLS 20-E	664
COLS 46-D	1648		COLS 46-D	1031		COLS 46-H	572
COLS 49-C	1502		COLS 49-C	876		COLS 49-G	638
COLS 57-C	1392		COLS 57-C	815		COLS 57-G	560
COLS 58-A	1530		COLS 58-A	787		COLS 58-J	740
COLS 58-F	1796		COLS 58-F	1051		COLS 58-K	684
COLS 69-A	2138		COLS 69-A	1000		COLS 69-H	686
COLS 69-A	2138		COLS 69-A	1000		COLS 69-I	318
COLS 69-C	1625		COLS 69-C	827		COLS 69-J	743
COLS 78-B	1374		COLS 78-B	746		COLS 78-F	614
COLS 78-C	2090		COLS 78-C	1066		COLS 78-G	1001
COLS 78-D	1927		COLS 78-D	1002		COLS 78-H	907
COLS 80-B	1472		COLS 80-B	792		COLS 80-G	695
COLS 81-A	1765		COLS 81-A	993		COLS 81-E	769
COLS 87-A	1920		COLS 87-A	892		COLS 87-D	1005
COLS 87-C	1747		COLS 87-C	691		COLS 87-E	1023
DUBLIN 2-G	1538		DUBLIN 2-G	570		DUBLIN 2-I	960
GROVE CITY 4-			GROVE CITY 4-			<b>GROVE CITY 4-</b>	
В	1453		В	799		F	645
MADISON-F	1459		MADISON-F	730		MADISON-I	729
PRAIRIE - A	1402		PRAIRIE - A	776		PRAIRIE - M	628
36576 19128						15883	

## PRECINCTS ELIMINATED (COMBINED)

Precinct Eliminated	Current Reg
HARRISBURG	210
LOCKBOURNE	178
	388

Precinct to Combine with	Current Reg	New Reg Total
PLEASANT - C	820	1030
HAMILTON - B	530	708
	1350	1738