

## **BOARD OF ELECTIONS**

## For Immediate Release March 6, 2010

## **Board of Elections Names New Director, Reappoints Other Staff**

(Columbus) The Franklin County Board of Elections today named a new director and retained its deputy director, existing full time staff, and chairman for new terms. This reorganizational meeting is a function of state law and is held in March of every even numbered election year.

Democrat William A. Anthony, Jr. will serve as director for the next two years. Anthony succeeds Democrat Michael Stinziano who resigned last month to run for public office. Anthony previously served with the board of elections from 1997 to 2009.

Republican Matthew M. Damschroder was reappointed to his post as deputy director of the board for the next two years and will team with Anthony to manage elections throughout the county.

Republican Douglas J. Preisse retained his role as board chairman through 2014.

The board's newest member, Democrat Zach Manifold, was appointed by Secretary of State Jennifer Brunner to a full four year term beginning March 1, succeeding Joseph L. Mas.

Two other board members, Republican Michael F. Colley and Democrat Kimberly E. Marinello are in the middle of their terms and remain with the board subject to reappointment in 2012.

The Franklin County Board of Elections consists of two Democrats and two Republicans appointed by the secretary of state to staggered four year terms. The board manages all facets of election law in Franklin County serving a jurisdiction of more than 800,000 registered voters.

Media Contact:
Ben Piscitelli
Franklin County Board of Elections
(614) 462-5351
bjpiscit@franklincountyohio.gov