

## **BOARD OF ELECTIONS**

Matthew M. Damschroder, Director Dennis L. White, Deputy Director

For Immediate Release Monday, Dec. 10, 2007

## **Recounts Uphold Results of General Election**

(Columbus)—The Franklin County Board of Elections certified recounts from the Nov. 6, 2007 General Election today upholding results of five municipal elections.

Vote totals remained the same in four recounts. The exception was Upper Arlington City Council where the vote tally from the paper ballots changed the final numbers, but not the outcome, in an election for three council seats. The inspection of the paper tapes from the voting machines matched the electronic vote totals with 100% accuracy. Previously announced winner Edward Seidel picked up another three votes with fourth and fifth place finishers Dan McCormick and Leslie Heath getting another two and four votes respectively. Results are as follows:

## **Upper Arlington City Council**

 Seidel
 5,441

 McCormick
 5,403

 Heath
 4,079

A tie vote in the election for Urbancrest mayor remained tied at 66 votes each for Joseph L. Barnes, Sr., and Marlin West making Barnes the winner on the basis of an earlier coin toss to break the deadlock as required under Ohio law. Recounted results also stand in elections for Bexley Board of Education and city council contests in Dublin and Reynoldsburg Ward One.

Recounts in all but the Reynoldsburg election were required under state law because outcomes were decided by a half percent or less. The Reynoldsburg recount was requested by a candidate defeated by a larger margin. Complete results are posted on the board of elections' Web site at <a href="http://franklincountyohio.gov">http://franklincountyohio.gov</a>

Media Contact: Ben Piscitelli

Franklin County Board of Elections

Office: (614) 462-5351 Cell: (614) 425-7171

bjpiscit@franklincountyohio.gov

FRANKLIN COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS 280 East Broad Street Columbus, Ohio 43215 (614) 462-3100 (614) 462-3489 FAX http://vote.franklincountyohio.gov BOARD MEMBERS
William A. Anthony, Jr., Chairman
Michael F. Colley, Esq.
Kimberly E. Marinello
Carolyn C. Petree