

BOARD OF ELECTIONS
Matthew M. Damschroder, Director Dennis L. White, Deputy Director

For Immediate Release Sept. 5, 2007

## Write-in Candidates File for November Election

**(Columbus)**—The field for Franklin County's Nov. 6 General Election increased this afternoon with nine candidates, seven for mayor in three villages, filing as write-ins in advance of a 4 p.m. deadline.

Michael Ebert of Canal Winchester, Rebecca Peterson of Harrisburg and five candidates from New Albany; Colleen Briscoe, Richard Fisher, Glyde Marsh, Guy Kenneth Patrick, and Sloan Spalding, filed declarations of intent to run as write-in for mayor in their villages. Two other candidates, Joshua Williams for Columbus City Council and Kathryn Wihl for Franklin Township Fiscal Officer, also filed as write-ins today. The Franklin County Board of Elections will vote on their certification at its next meeting on Sept. 10.

The write-in candidacies for mayor were launched shortly after other mayoral candidates failed to make the ballot because of errors in their petition filings. Steven Donahue of Canal Winchester, Gene Dawson of Harrisburg, and Nancy Ferguson of New Albany were all denied certification for failing to complete the circulator's statement on their petitions. Donahue and Ferguson have each filed appeals with the Board of Elections.

Appeals have also been filed by Gahanna City Council candidate Steven J. Raimo, a local option petitioner in Columbus Ward 87, Precinct A, and by the 43203 Zone Dry Coalition, a group attempting to stop carry out beer and liquor sales in Columbus Ward 7. All appeals will be heard by the Board of Elections on Monday, September 10, 2007 at 3 p.m.

Media Contact: Ben Piscitelli Public Information Officer Franklin County Board of Elections (614) 462-5351 bjpiscit@franklincountyohio.gov

**FRANKLIN COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS** 280 East Broad Street Columbus, Ohio 43215 (614) 462-3100 (614) 462-3489 FAX http://vote.franklincountyohio.gov/boe BOARD MEMBERS William A. Anthony, Jr., Chairman Michael F. Colley, Esq. Kimberly E. Marinello Carolyn C. Petree